Excellence in Quality - Applying Learnings to Practice - Report and Photo Gallery

IPA Convention, 2014 was organized on 8th Bangalore. The convention was hosted by IPA Karnataka State Branch. The theme of the convention was "Excellence in Quality- Applying Learnings to Practice". August, 2014 at NIMHANS Convention Centre,

The Convention started by invocation & lighting of lamp by dignitaries on dais. Shri. Raghurama Bhandary, Chairman of Local Organizing Committee and President IPA - Karnataka State Branch & Drugs Controller for the State of Karnataka delivered the welcome address. Dr. Rao V. S. V. Vadlamudi, President, Indian Pharmaceutical Association, in his remarks, said that the Convention was also the launch of Platinum Jubilee Celebrations of IPA. He thanked the IPA - Karnataka State Branch for hosting the Convention. On this occasion, a Platinum Jubilee Postage Stamp was also released. An initiative of the IPA Education Division, the stamp was released by Dr. B. Suresh, Vice Chancellor, JSS University, Guest of Honour, Dr. B.R. Jagashetty, Former Drugs Controller for the state of Karnataka, Chief Patron IPA Convention, 2014 and IPA Centre Office bearers.

Mr. Scott Talbot, Global Vice President - QA & RA, Novel Laboratories Inc, USA, Chief Guest delivered the key note address. In his address, Mr. Scott outlined the recent changes in trend of regulatory inspection. International regulators were putting compliance before scientific justification. His talk was peppered with practical examples Mr. John. C.P. Chang, President, FAPA Congress and Guest of Honour released a booklet "A Guide to Medication by a Pharmacist". The book compiled by Mr. D.A. Gundu Rao, Mr. P.S. Bhagavan, Mr. Samson P George and Mr. Y. Veeranarayana Gowda and published by Co- Pharma Trust is a useful guide for common man on management of medication. In his message, Mr. Chang wished IPA all the success in their Platinum Jubilee year. Dr. T. V. Narayana, Chairman-IPA Education Division and Organizing Secretary of IPA Convention, Mr. Devinder Pal, Senior Past President of IPA, Mr. Kaushik Desai, Honorary General Secretary of IPA, Mr. A. G. Raghu and Dr. Surendra Manek, the Scientific Coordinators of the Convention, Prof. D. Narasimha Reddy, Secretary Of IPA-Karnataka State Branch and Dr. Divakar Goli, Executive Secretary of IPA Convention and Principal of Acharya & BM Reddy College of Pharmacy, were the other dignitaries on the dais. Dr. D. N. Reddy, Secretary, IPA- Karnataka State Branch and Principal of Vivekananda College of Pharmacy delivered the vote of thanks for the inaugural session.

IPA President's Special Oration:

Dr. Rao. V. S. V. Vadlamudi, President of IPA and Director, St. Peter's Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences delivered President's Special Oration on "Quality Management: An Enabler for Compliance through Culture Change". In his talk, Dr. Rao outlined the principles of Quality Management leading to culture change. Quality culture can be achieved by team work, continual improvement & customer satisfaction.

IPA-AU PACT Dr. Venkateswarulu Memorial Lecture: The IPA-AU PACT Dr. Venkateswarlu Memorial lecture was delivered by Dr. B. Suresh, Vice Chancellor, JSS University and President, Pharmacy Council of India. In his talk on "Innovation to Meet Challenges to Achieve Excellence in Regulatory Compliance", Dr. Suresh outlined recent regulatory inspection and warning letters, the violations leading to heavy penalties. One of the main factors in these failures was deficient work force training. He stressed on the need for more courses in Regulatory Science for proper understanding of the law and compliance. Dr. Suresh asked for more focus on research in Regulatory Science, and wanted IPA to champion this cause. Pharmaceutical companies should focus more on health creation than wealth creation, added Dr. Suresh. These talks were followed by Scientific Session by four eminent speakers.

Dr. Vinay Nayak, President, Technical Operations, Alembic Chemicals, delivered talk on "Quality Audits case studies- Major Quality Issues and Trends". In his talk, Dr. Nayak said with stringent global regulatory norms and frequent unannounced inspections had become the norm and Indian companies had to equip themselves to perpetual audit mode. He gave lot of practical examples to illustrate the changing trends in regulatory inspections.

Mr. S.M. Mudda, Executive Director, Technical & Operations, Micro Labs Ltd. delivered a talk on "Motivating Quality and Operation Teams to Quality Systems Compliance- practical tips". In his talk, Mr. Mudda said presently GMP compliance focuses on inspection success and not on philosophy of Quality Management & Quality Culture. He said the need of the hour was not motivating workforce but changing work environment. There was trust deficit in work environment leading to "Fear". If environment of Trust was created, it would drive out fear and transform every one. He stressed on the need to achieve operational excellence through personal excellence.

Dr. Anthony Raj Gomes, Sr. Vice President- Quality, Global API Operations, Mylan, presented his views on "Good Documentation Practices - Key to overcome Major Quality Audit Findings". Dr. Gomes with lot of practical examples emphasized the importance of documentation in three forms, Instructions, Records & Reports. He said writing accurate instructions & following instructions accurately were two sides of the coin and key for Good Documentation Practices.

Mr. A.G. Raghu, Technical Director, Gland Chemicals Pvt. Ltd., delivered talk on "Quality Systems- Practical Roadmap to Sustainable Quality Culture". With lots of practical examples, Mr. Raghu explained how to implement Pharmaceutical Quality System. He also listed Quality Metrics and added that continuous monitoring of these metrics and managing knowledge would lead to Sustainable Quality Culture.

At the end, Dr. Surendra Manek, Convenor Scientific Services, IPA summarized the scientific sessions. During the convention 100 posters were selected for presentation and best papers adjudged from poster sessions were awarded with certificates.

The Convention was blessed by many eminent pharmacists and was made successful by the efforts of members of IPA Karnataka and Local Organizing committee headed by Chairman-Mr. Raghurama Bhandary, Vice-Chairmen Mr. J. P. Mady & Mr. Suresh Khanna, with support of Office bearers of IPA Centre headed by President Dr. Rao V. S. V. Vadlamudi. Professionals actively involved in organizing the event are Mr. S. D. Joag, Mr. Goni Fakkirappa, Mr. Sunil Attawar, Mr. Jatish Sheth, Dr. RamaChandra Shetty, Prof. C. Ramesh, Prof. V. B. Desai, Dr. M. D. Karvekar, Dr. Manjunatha P. M., Prof. Ambujakshi H. R., Dr. Giles D., Mr. UdayRaj Sharma, Mr. GuruBasavaraj Swamy, Mr. Venkatesh D. P., Mr. Haribabu, Dr. Prakash T., Dr. Roopa Karki, Mr. Satisha S. B., Mr. Anudeep Balla, Dr. K. R. P. Shenoy, Mr. AnandaRaja Shekar, Mr. T. B. Nair, Mr. Jaypal Reddy, Dr. Alka Mukne and many others. The volunteers of IPA Peenya branch and Acharya & BM Reddy College of Pharmacy were involved in the successful organization of IPA convention 2014.
Photo Gallery

Dignitaries on the dais during the inaugural session.   Lamp lighting during the inaugural session.
Dr. Rao Vadlamudi   John. C.P. Chang
Scott Talbot   Release of the IPA Platinum Jubilee postage stamp
A.G. Raghu   Dr. B. Suresh
Dr. S.P. Manek   Dr. Vinay Nayak
Dr. S. M. Mudda   Dr. Anthony Gomes